CIDS Subcommittees, City and State Chapters

CIDS Subcommittees, City and State Chapters

A Subcommittee consists of members of CIDS with a special interest in the specific field with the goal of promoting the area in education, research, and advocacy. A subcommittee will have a chairperson, secretary, and members.

Rules and regulations for the Subcommittee:


  1. The chair of the subcommittee will be a Governing Council (GC) member. In exceptional circumstances, the chair could be an Executive Life Member who has been a member for at least 2 years. A GC member can chair only one subcommittee at a time.
  2. The chair should not be the president/secretary/treasurer of CIDS. Vice President or Joint Secretary or Joint treasurer could be a Subcommittee chair until he/she takes over as the President, Secretary or Treasurer.
  3. The chair is selected for a term of two years by the GC of CIDS. The term may be extended as determined by the GC.


  1. The secretary of a subcommittee has to be a member of CIDS and cannot be an office bearer of CIDS.
  2. The secretary is selected for a term of two years by the GC of CIDS. The term may be extended as determined by the GC.


Subcommittee members should be life executive members of CIDS. However, if the chair feels the contributions of a non-member Expert would be very valuable, one or two could be included.

The president, secretary, and treasurer of CIDS will be ex-officio members of all subcommittees.

The chair and secretary are tasked with developing terms of reference for the subcommittee, which should be presented and approved by the GC. This should also include working with strategic partners, like other societies.

The chair of the subcommittee, in consultation with the members, will plan for activities as deemed appropriate within the scope of their terms of reference. The subcommittee should meet face to face at least once a year, preferably during subcommittee events and/or during the CIDS conference. They could meet more often virtually.

The chair and secretary of the subcommittee are responsible for obtaining sufficient funds for its activities and ensuring that overall policies of CIDS are followed.

All expenditure above 1 lakh rupees should be approved in advance by the CIDS governing council, and the bills should be submitted after the event for making the payments. Funds raised by the subcommittee activities will be in the CIDS name and routed through the CIDS account and will follow CIDS guidelines for fund collections.

Resolutions and activities of the subcommittee, including the financial statement (which will be prepared in consultation with the Treasurer of CIDS), should be presented by the chair during the annual GC meeting to be endorsed by the Governing Council. In the event of the chair not being available, the secretary of the subcommittee may be allowed to present as a special, non-voting invitee.

The activities of the subcommittee have to be presented in the general body meeting. Extraordinary or emergent decisions of the subcommittee may be permitted by the CIDS office bearers (President, Secretary, and Treasurer) but should be with the approval of the majority of the Governing Council. Email communication may be considered acceptable for documentation for such situations, but these need to be regularized at the next available opportunity.

Rules and Regulations to Conduct:

They have the freedom to conduct subcommittees and chapter meetings.

A minimum of 1-2 meetings/workshops/conferences should be conducted during the calendar year.

However, if pharma company money is raised, 10% of that needs to be submitted to CIDS.

If administrative expenses are needed to start the meeting, a small seed grant may be provided with regard to making the brochure, circulation, and provision of a zoom link. For subsequent meetings, funding will need to be raised.

The CIDS will not provide funding to maintain the chapter/state level office staff.

Current Subcommittee Chairpersons:

HIV Medicine – Dr. Rajeev Soman

Adult Immunization & Travel Medicine – Dr. Neha Gupta

Transplant ID – Dr. Subramanian Swaminathan

Infection Control – Dr. A Rajalakshmi

Tropical Medicine– Dr. Kavitha Saravu

Clinical Microbiology- Dr. Tanu Singhal

PG Subcommittee- Dr. Senthur Nambi

Tech in ID- Dr. D. Suresh Kumar

Mycology – Dr. Atul Patel 

Rules & Regulations for City and State Chapters:

  1. At least one formally ID trained person, accompanied by two individuals with a keen interest in ID, who are executive life members of CIDS for a minimum period of 5 years, OR someone running NMC/NBE/University accredited Infectious Disease training program.
  2. To start a chapter, a minimum of three members should be executive life members, with at least one person formally trained in ID or working in ID for at least 2 years, or running an ID training program, or practicing at least 60% ID in clinical practice. The subcommittee/chapter chair and secretary should be CIDS executive life members.
  3. Approval from the CIDS executive committee.

Members of Regional Chapters:

CIDS Bengal Chapter:

Dr. S. K. Guha

Dr. Bibhuti Saha

Dr. Sayan Chakraborthy

Dr. Soumyadip Chatterji

CIDS Kerala Chapter:

Dr. Shareek PS

Dr. Merlin Moni

Dr. A Rajalakshmi

Dr. VKM Niyas

Dr. Netto George

CIDS Jodhpur Chapter:

Dr. Arvind Mathur

Dr. Gopal Krishna Bohra

Dr. Deepak Kumar

Dr. Vibhor Tak

CIDS Delhi Chapter:

Dr. Neha Gupta

Dr. Atul Gogia

Col Sumit Arora

Dr. Nitin Bansal

Dr. Ashima Jain Vidyarthi

CIDS Haryana, Noida and Chandigarh Tricity Chapter:

Dr. Vikas Deswal

Dr. Neha Rastogi

Dr. Nazneen Nahar Begum

Dr. Chhavi Gupta

Dr. Vikas Suri

CIDS Telangana Chapter:

Dr. Suneetha Narreddy

Dr. Ravikiran Barigala

Dr. P. Vishnu Rao

Dr. Venkat Ramesh

Dr. Monalisa Sahu

Dr. Pratik Patil

Dr. Haripriya Reddy Challa

Dr. Praveen Kumar Tirlangi

CIDS Maharashtra Chapter:

Dr. Rajeev Soman

Dr. Vasant C. Nagvekar

Dr. Tanu Singhal

CIDS Nagpur Chapter:

Dr. Ashwini Tayade

Dr. Nitin Shinde

Dr. Nikhil Balankhe

Dr. Madhavi Deshmukh

CIDS Chennai Chapter:

Dr. Ram Gopalakrishnan

Dr. V Ramasubramanian

Dr. Abdul Ghafur

Dr. Subramanian Swaminathan

Dr. Suresh Kumar D

Dr. Senthur Nambi P

Dr. Vijayalakshmi Balakrishnan

Dr. Vidya Devarajan

Dr. Vidya Krishna

Dr. Madhumitha R

Dr. Sudha Teresa

Dr. Yamunadevi V R

Dr. Nandini Sethuraman

Dr. Surendran R

Dr. Sowmya Sridharan

Dr. Praveen Balaguru

Dr. Rajkumar J

Dr. Niveditha